Tags

, , , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 9 Recap

OK – we were down for a couple days due to an unexpected blackout of our laptop screen. Thanks go a skilled tech and overnight mail, and we’re back up again!

While we were down, we had a new participant come on board – our first joiner who comes to us via Twitter! Woo-hoo – all that Tweeting is paying off, people!

And now we shall carry on with our Daily Recaps. The prompt for Day 9  was about turning one’s book inside out: if you wrote fiction, how could you make it nonfiction, and if you wrote nonfiction, how could you turn it into a work of fiction?

ROBERT CHAZZ CHUTE. True story: I visited a writing group and much of the discussion was dominated by an imperious woman who was keen to get a critiquing group started. Only she pronounced it: “Kr-eye-teaking.” Then she said, “Kudos to you!” But she pronounced it “KA-doos.” I didn’t want to be part of her critique group.

__________________

MERLENE FAWDRY. I have no idea how to turn a fiction story into non-fiction, for how does one take something created from the imagination and make it the truth but… if I wanted to bring a greater realism to fiction, I would rewrite it in first person narrative. Telling the story through the eyes of the writer gives an immediacy to their involvement in the story, as if they are speaking about a personal experience. To add greater authenticity I would include actual events, times and places and weave the characters into the facts.

__________________

LORI CARTER BONN. DON’T pray for patience … unless you’re ready for the test that follows. I prayed that quick prayer as I picked up my daughter from school. (I should know better … I’m always telling people NOT to pray for patience!) Because the only way you learn it is through aggravating circumstances. Trust me, I know this.

__________________

T.L. BODINE. Obviously, I’d have a pretty tough time [turning my fiction book into nonfiction].  I write about faeries and living dreams and talking rats and self-aware zombies who want equal rights.  If you need help with any of those things, you probably need a good psychiatrist, not a book.

__________________

NIKKI MORGAN. My first reaction to this prompt [about turning my nonfiction book into fiction], is no way, I don’t do fiction, might have to break my vow about following the prompts each day! Why do we find it so hard to step out of our comfort zone? I don’t need to write the book, just rearrange how it is presented, in theory! So after a lovely ’girls’ lunch and a couple of wines, I thought what the heck, let’s give this a go and see what happens… My book Kids R Kelver – How To Help Your Kids Shine! is all about squashing limiting beliefs, living a healthy life and achieving your dreams, not about ‘I can’t do it’ … so here goes…

Click here to read Nikki’s foray into fiction.

__________________

JO MICHAELS. Yassa is fiction that is based on fact. If I took out the love triangle (it could have happened!) and some of the gory scenes where Temujin is exacting revenge on those that have wronged him (or his family), it would be all fact. But, how stinkin’ boring it would be! BORING! History is boring unless you focus on the human element. Facts and dates thrown together in a mishmash of words make me fall into a zombie trance and drool on the page. Note: to those that have bought my used books, that was hyperbole.

__________________

REBECCA FYFE. My non-fiction book about living a healthy lifestyle, titled Skinny Dreaming (after my blog of that name) could become a fiction story if it was based around a woman trying to lose weight and change her life, but I’d probably have to throw some humorous encounters and a romance in there somewhere to make it more interesting as a fiction piece. (And the character would have to be very different from me as I am not very funny.)

__________________

ELISE FEE.
don’t mind
me

or anyone else
who tries to label you
judge you
tell you what to do
don’t mind
your own mind
your ego
your personality
when it tries to pigeonhole you
define you
box you in

__________________

LIBERTY MONTANO. He lies in wait, clinging deceptively to the rain-drowned moss. Preparing to strike, this gastropod coils like your gut after last night’s pizza.

__________________

KEBBA BUCKLEY BUTTON. Dr. Eileen Borris can teach you what you need to know about finding forgiveness. She has been teaching forgiveness and reconciliation around the world for the Institute for Multi-Track Diplomacy (Washington, DC), the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) and the United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM). The last time I saw her she had just returned from giving workshops in Kuwait. Shortly, she is off to Rwanda, for the Healing Wounds of History Conference. Wherever she goes, Dr. Borris transforms.

__________________

CRYSTAL LEE. July 15th, 2042: Bzzzzzz. Lissy swatted the bug away and put her mask on. Stupid gnats! They were annoying her, and that in turn annoyed Jash. He wished she could go without that dopey thing. It was hard to get close to her with it jutting out in front like a trunk. She was used to wearing it so it didn’t bother her, but still…

__________________

NATASHA DEONARAIN. “My sister is a chiropractor,” I said. “You can see if she can help, but you have a degenerative spinal condition. There’s not much to do for that, as you know. Sometimes our bodies deteriorate as we get older, some faster than others, and there’s no surgical fix, as you know.” She promised that she would make an appointment. A few days later, I was sitting near the front desk and saw Betty walk in, a big smile on her face. She was carrying a brightly colored paper bag in her hands and moved easily without pain. “Betty!” I exclaimed. “You’re better!”

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

__________________