Tags

, , ,

RECAP Day 4 – NO EXCUSES 3-Week Author Blog Challenge

__________________

Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit!

It’s the first day of the month, so I bid you a good Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit! My high rabbit-rabbit-rabbitschool freshman English teacher, Linda Pilon, first taught me about this superstition. I later encountered several other individuals, all originally from Massachusetts, who had heard variations on the saying. According to the esteemed Wikipedia:

Rabbit rabbit rabbit is one variant of a superstition found in Britain and North America that states that a person should say or repeat the word “rabbit” or “rabbits”, or “white rabbits”, or some combination of these elements, out loud upon waking on the first day of the month, because doing so will ensure good luck for the duration of that month.

TELL US ABOUT YOUR COVER…

Judith Cassis, author of the Writer to Writer series, has some great advice about your book cover:

Create a mockup. I usually have ideas in my head but I’m not a talented artist. When I draw people they are skinny little stick-figures. Regardless, I do my best to put the pictures from my head on paper to illustrate my ideas.

More good book cover advice from Melissa Gijsbers, author of Swallow Me, Now!:

Knowing what other books [similar to mine] had on the cover helped us decide on the look and feel that appealed to the age group I was aiming the book at. I also knew that this book was the first in a series, so it had to have a look and feel that would translate to other stories that hadn’t been written yet, and that would appeal to both boys and girls.

 

THANKS FOR THE GIVEAWAY!

Each day’s bloggers in the NO EXCUSES 3-Week Author Blog Challenge are eligible for a drawing for a lovely gift from one of their fellow bloggers. Today’s lucky WINNER is Shanan Winters, who will receive an aaudiobook of her choice at Audible.com from Jack Dermody, author of the Personality as a Second Language blog.

Please be sure to check out our bloggers’ posts for Day 5 here:
http://www.blenza.com/linkies/links.php?owner=marciebrock&postid=01Nov2016

We’ll check in with you again tomorrow. Until then, keep writing!

lo-sig

 

 

________________
The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven
blog. All who register for the Author Blog Challenge will receive a complimentary copy of Laura’s special report: “138 Tips to Help You Blog Like a Pro.” Nonparticipants may obtain their own copies for just 99 cents.

46-1-052114-akp

 

