Tags

, , , , , , ,

Winter Author Blog Challenge – Writing Prompt #10 and Recaps of Days 8 & 9

Summertime and the reading is good…

So sorry – didn’t mean to freak everyone out by not sending the daily email yesterday! Wow, are we creatures of habit! You do realize, this info goes out in 3 different formats, right?

  1. Here on the blog.
  2. On the Facebook page.
  3. Via email.

So, not surprisingly, we didn’t have many takers on the FourSquare topic. I was interested to see what you all had to say, because I have my own opinions about the platform. Here’s the post:

What are your thoughts about FourSquare? For those unaware, FourSquare foursquareis a location tracking platform. Its users “check in” at various locations with a mobile device and are able to find out (track?) where their friends are. Location is based on GPS hardware in the mobile device or a network location provided by the app itself. Many members use foursquare and its competitors for the discounts. Or perhaps you want people to know which bookstore you’re in for your signing or event. Are you using FourSquare? Is there a way to use it to encourage better attendance at your signings and events? What are the pluses and drawbacks? Be sure to give us the link to your profile!

SNIPPETS FROM YOUR POSTS

ASHLEY HOWLAND. Today’s prompt was about foursquare. I think I have an account, but never use it. I don’t like the idea of people knowing where I am all the time. So I’m not convinced this is of any use to me as an author or just in general. Will be interested to read other people’s takes. READ MORE HERE.

MERLENE FAWDRY. When I do want to publicise an event I tend to use other methods, print invitations, flyers, email, Facebook and other media On the plus side, it does have great maps and this could be useful in the absence of a GPS – or a print copy street directory. This works for me. READ MORE HERE.

RUNDY PURDY. Call me paranoid but I really wonder if people are thinking about these possibilities and implications enough. Yes, it is fun to share where you have been, what you are doing, but are you confident who is seeing that information? Would you be comfortable if the entire world could see that information? The more you become a public figure the more pointed these questions become. Authors want to use social media to get their name out in the world, but there is a negative side to that greater visibility. Sometimes you attract the attention of less savoury characters. Do you share on social media with that possibility in mind? READ MORE HERE.

MELISSA KHALINKSY. One of the drawbacks is remembering to check in, also, I don’t want everyone to know where I am when I’m out with my kids. Also, when I’m on my mobile, I’m conscious of not going over my data limit. It’s different when I’m somewhere I can connect with WiFi. I’ve also only just started adding friends to my list. I haven’t used discounts or special offers yet, mostly because the places I’ve been visiting haven’t had offers listed. READ MORE HERE.

Let me just say I’m glad I’m not alone in my concern for this medium. I’m NOT a privacy freak, but common sense just says it’s probably best not to announce to the world where you are at every given moment of the day. The only benefit I see from doing so is to earn points or savings on certain items, but when it comes down to it, is any savings really worth exposing yourself so thoroughly? Just my 2 cents’. LO

LINKS TO ALL POSTS

Revisit the Mister Linky site to see links to ALL of DAY 8 posts.

And also revisit the Mister Linky site to see links to ALL of DAY 9 posts.

DAY 8 WINNER

Congratulations to Merlene Fawdy, winner of the drawing for Day 8 of the Winter Author Blog Challenge. She has won a collection of science fiction short stories entitled Footprints in Red from Doug Turnbull. https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/210763. Thanks so much for the donation, Doug! We’ll email Merlene with info about claiming her prize.

DAY 9 WINNER

Congratulations to Alana Mautone, winner of the drawing for Day 9 of the Winter Author Blog Challenge. She has won Laura Orsini‘s ebook, Using Facebook Fan Pages to Market Your Book and/or Build Your Business. Facebook Fan Pages have changed considerably over the last  year. If you’ve been meaning to create one — or need help notching up the results with your existing Fan Page — this book is a must-read! Nearly 200 pages with TONS of screen shots to explain every detail. Includes ideas for increasing your following, as well as thoughts on how best to connect with your customers, clients, and prospects. We’ll email Alana with info about claiming her prize.

WRITING PROMPTS

We now unveil the Day 10 writing prompt for the Winter Author Blog Challenge…

goodreads

Are you on GoodReads? It seems a pretty obvious place for authors to hang out, yet I’m not sure authors are using it to quite the maximal benefit. If you are on GoodReads, how often do you visit/use the site? How often do you update your reading list? What other kinds of things do you post? Are you finding yourself using it the way social media was intended: to create a community? If you are NOT on GoodReads, have you made a deliberate choice to skip it? What other mechanisms do you utilize for meeting other readers/writers/authors? How else could you begin to create your very own community? If you are on Goodreads, remember to give us your profile link.

POST YOUR LINKS

In order to qualify for today’s drawing, you MUST post your link on our Linky. Click the image below to access it. In the field that says YOUR NAME, you write your name AND the name of your post (not the title of your blog). In the field that says YOUR URL, include your link to TODAY’s post. Your post will not count for drawings and toward overall winner if you do not add your link to the Linky page. However, we still encourage you to share your posts on the wall for the Author Blog Challenge Facebook group.

As we keep blogging, we continue to encourage you to read each others’ blogs. The Author Blog Challenge works because you support each other by reading, promoting, sharing, and talking up the great posts you come across from your fellow participants. Check out your fellow participants on GoodReads and connect with them!

Let the blogging continue!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Winter Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

