Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Winter Author Blog Challenge – Writing Prompt #8 and Recap of Day 7

Circles, circles … everywhere are circles.

OK – somewhere between yesterday and now, we passed over the halfway mark in the Winter Author Blog Challenge. Yesterday’s topic was Google+.

Have you jumped into Google+ yet? If you are a regular user, you are still considered an early adopter, and that’s a great place Google+ 2to be in order to make a name for yourself while few others are – especially if men are among your target market, as most users right now are male. As marketing pro Linda Sherman puts it, “GooglePlus can give you access to influencers (i.e., other early adopters) who might not notice you elsewhere.” This is a CHALLENGE, so here’s my challenge with this prompt: If you’re USING Goolge+, tell us about your experience. If you’re NOT using Google+, don’t just write, “Blah, blah, blah I’m not using it …” and call it a post. Do a little research. Learn one thing about Google+ that you find interesting, that might make it worth your time and effort to explore. No – I’m not suggesting you be on every social media platform, but the goal of this Challenge is to explore the various social networks, so let’s do that! And if you are on Google+, be sure to give us your link.

Now we’re heading off the main path, into some other, perhaps lesser known social media platforms. Stick with us –  you may learn something or be inspired to try something new! Must be losing interest a bit – or getting busy. We only had 9 entries on the Linky today, and 9 entries on the FB group page … althought he lists did not overlap 100 percent!

SNIPPETS FROM YOUR POSTS

TIA BACH. What I’ve loved most about these social media-themed prompts is how much I’ve learned. I had NO clue that men used Google+ more. Good to know, since I write women’s fiction and my YA book will be appeal more to females as well. READ MORE HERE.

Glad to know you’re learning stuff, Tia! LO

LAURA ORSINI. Another great feature of Google+ is that it allows for long conversations during which you can build relationships and readership. As with Twitter and LinkedIn, use Google+ to connect with fellow authors, bloggers and readers. If you want to see what other authors and writers – some of them very connected and/or impressive, are up to, here’s a List of Recommended Authors and Writers on Google+. READ MORE HERE.

While I do have the whole Laura/Marcie thing going on, I’m not so batty as to reply to my own post. Really. LO

RACHEL EDGE. Is love an infection of the heart that purely needs time to heal? Is love an uncontrollable force that makes the blindest of bats crave men from 100 paces? Is it just that he is not the nice guy I thought he was but somewhere deep down I was hoping he might be afterall?

I have decided to do the one thing I can only do after telling him all this is over. I cannot possibly go and see him, I cannot even call him up. I am going to send him a text message like a lame ass and I am not even going to say I miss him although obviously, there is not enough sugary food in the world to make everything ok. I am going to wimp out entirely and send him an insulting message in hope he replies to my message with the words. ‘Rachel I was in a coma for two weeks I am so sorry my evil twin stole my phone and from now on I am going to be a better boyfriend.’ READ MORE HERE.

Ah, Rachel. I had one of those. Finally chucked him – after 10 excruciating on-and-off years. I only got the apology a year after the breakup. If you can get over him in less than 5, you’re doing great! Hang in there, girlie. We’re rooting for you! BTW – I can’t get your blog to load in Internet Explorer  – thank God I use Firefox, too! LO

LINKS TO ALL POSTS

Revisit the Mister Linky site to see links to ALL of yesterday’s posts.

TODAY’s WINNER

Congratulations to Melissa Khalinsky, winner of the drawing for Day 7 of the Winter Author Blog Challenge. She has won a copy of Matthew Moran’s new book, Building Your I.T. Career (from Pearson Publishing). Matthew assures us that “while this may sound like an odd book for non-IT types, the book is really general, proactive, career advice that is applicable to all careers. Whilte it’s couched in some I.T.-focused conversations, it is NOT a technical title.” Thanks so much for the donation, Matthew! We’ll email Melissa with info about claiming her prize.

WRITING PROMPTS

We now unveil the Day 8 writing prompt for the Winter Author Blog Challenge…

quora

Are you using Quora? If you aren’t familiar with it, Quora enables users to ask questions and receive answers from those who allegedly know something about the topic. This is a phenomenal way to demonstrate your expertise – and even if you’re a novelist, you have an area of expertise – perhaps it’s simply “publishing your novel.” Unfortunately, it seems you’re required to have an account before you can dig around – UNLESS you know a person’s profile link. Here are two you can check out:

http://www.quora.com/Seth-Godin

http://www.quora.com/Laura-Orsini

Yes – I just put myself on par with Seth Godin! Here’s your challenge: What’s the one question you would like to find an expert to answer? And conversely, what’s the one question you would feel most comfortable/confident answering? If you’re on Quora, please be sure to give us your link!

POST YOUR LINKS

In order to qualify for today’s drawing, you MUST post your link on our Linky. Click the image below to access it. In the field that says YOUR NAME, you write your name AND the name of your post (not the title of your blog). In the field that says YOUR URL, include your link to TODAY’s post. Your post will not count for drawings and toward overall winner if you do not add your link to the Linky page. However, we still encourage you to share your posts on the wall for the Author Blog Challenge Facebook group.

As we keep blogging, we continue to encourage you to read each others’ blogs. The Author Blog Challenge works because you support each other by reading, promoting, sharing, and talking up the great posts you come across from your fellow participants. Look to see which of your fellow WABC participants is on Quora and give them a follow!

Let the blogging continue!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Winter Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

