Tags

, , , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – It’s not goodbye; it’s “See you later!”

In business, they talk about the importance of having a succession plan – a way to wind down when you’re done doing business. Do you sell your business? Just close up shop? Interestingly, when I put the Author Blog Challenge together, I knew logically that it would end  in just 28 days, but I had no idea how big a part of my life it would consume during those 28 days. Not in a negative way – it’s just taken up a large portion of my focus. Now that it’s about to be done, I’m not sure what’s next.

It’s been fascinating to read all the comments so far about plans for keeping motivated and staying in touch. Some of the Challenge participants expressed an interest in continuing to hang out in cyberspace. To them, I say, “Good on you!” Go for it. The Facebook group will remain open. I’m just going to take a break for a while and attend to some other areas that have been a bit neglected over this last month.

Then, we’ll take a look at the Unnamed Collaborative Fiction Project and see where that goes.

For those who want continued access to daily writing prompt, I do post one on my personal Facebook page almost every day. Well – I used to. That’s one of the things that will be resurrected as soon as the Challenge is finished. They’re sometimes wacky and really have nothing to do with the writing process, but they’re fun and might inspire some interesting writing!

Please feel free to visit me on the Marcie Brock blog, too! I will continue to post here – but probably only once or twice a week. I’ll also maintain the Twitter feed: @authorblogchal.

WINTER AUTHOR BLOG CHALLENGE

Please remember to mark your calendars for the Winter Author Blog Challenge, taking place Dec 1 through Dec 14. It’s short because it’s right before the holidays. I was thinking I’d go with a social media theme for that challenge – but nothing is set in stone and I am open to ideas. You know where the Comments box is! Please tell your author friends and  colleagues about the Winter Challenge – would love to see the number of participants in the 200s!

DAILY WINNERS LIST

I will spend the next day or two compiling a list of the daily winners of the Author Blog Challenge giveaways and post it here on its own page. If you know you’ve won something and haven’t claimed your gift yet, please email me. If your name shows up on that list and you didn’t know it was there, email me about that, too.

GRAND PRIZE

Make sure to get all 28 posts up on your blog (they have to be new posts, beginning June 2) by tonight at 10 p.m. PDT to qualify for the Grand prize: all 28 giveaways from the duration of the Blog Challenge (although I think a couple were duplicate giveaways, so it won’t be quite 28) as well as a $50 gift card to your favorite bookseller.

DAILY RECAPS

The Day 27 prompt asked participants to comment on the best part of the Author Blog Challenge and suggestions for improving it. Lots of lovely comments from all who wrote on those topics! Click here for the Day 27 Recap.

ON TO THE FUN STUFF…

Winner for Day 27 Heather Topham Wood. She wins a gift from Kebba Buckley Button! It is a PDF copy of her book Peace Within. This book is intended to be used as a general guide and source of inspiration. It contains poetry, prose, photos, and quotes to help you reach a state of inner peace.

And the final daily giveaway of the Author Blog Challenge is a PDF copy of MY award-winning book, 1,001 Real-Life Questions for Women. It’s in workbook format and literally contains 1,001 questions to make you Laugh, Cry, Ponder, Ruminate,  & Consider. Enjoy, and definitely let me know what you think!

DAILY WRITING PROMPTS

Writing Prompt #28:

What are you going to do to keep the blogging momentum going? What plans do you have to continue your connection with other Author Blog Challenge participants?

If you’d like to see ALL the writing prompts that have been released to date, please visit the PROMPTS page.

Let the blogging continue!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

