Tags

, , , , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 27 Recap

It’s nice to be appreciated; even nicer to hear that  people got a lot out of the inaugural Author Blog Challenge! Please see the excerpts below for a review of some of the benefits participants took away from the Challenge! Please click the name to read the whole post.

__________________

PETE FAUR. Earlier this week, the New York Times offered its 7th annual Small Business Summit. I wasn’t able to attend. One of the blogs coming out of the event, however, caught my eye. Brooke Howell did a great job of summarizing the thoughts of a panel on how to improve productivity. Here are seven tips captured by Brooke: (1) Do less. (2) Categorize your days. (3) Embrace imperfection. (4) Be smart about checking tech. (5) Change in five-minute increments. (6) Take advantage of time-saving tools. (7) Get better about managing social media.

__________________

ROBERT CHAZZ CHUTE. 1. The best thing is that I’ve met some great new fellow bloggers with interesting posts to share. Most people are relentlessly positive and that’s fascinating and weird to me, so there’s that. But every participant will say that. What else? 2. Bigger Then Jesus, my crime novel got another review because one of those new fellow bloggers decided to take a chance on me after reading my usual nonsense. Cool! Jo Michaels warned me she’d be honest (oh, no!) but it turned out she liked it a lot and gave it a five-star review. Cooler! Yay!

__________________

JACKIE BLEDSOE. We all have had experiences that changed our lives forever.  I believe what the bible says in Romans 8:28, “all things work together for good to those who love God.”  Even the situations which I may have perceived as bad, were working with other things in my life, for good.

__________________

LIBETY MONTANO. We all work hard at this gig. Writing is real work. I’m not going to give it away. Dropping my prices to nothing does not respect the value of my work or the value of what I create. It’s not a sustainable business plan and does nothing to encourage the value of my niche. Besides, it takes Amazon days and days to change the price. I don’t have that kind of time. If I don’t value my work, how can I expect anyone else to? To do: Set a price and stick to it. Network with other thought-leaders. Help other writers whenever I can. Empower and create more.

__________________

TIA BACH. Words have power. They can inspire and destroy. Last week, the lovely Callie Leuck wrote an amazing post, Some People Can’t Mind Their Ps and Qs. She shares customers’ comments while she performed in a living history museum, and also discusses how hateful people can be with negative book reviews. It struck a chord with me.

__________________

T.L. BODINE. There’s quite a few things that I’ve really enjoyed from working through these prompts and being a member of the challenge community:

  • It’s forced me to write every day, whether I felt like it or not, whether I had a lot of time to spare or not.  That’s the sort of dedication I always need to hone in myself, and hopefully I can start using some of that dedication to work on WIPs as well as my other writing duties.
  •  It’s let me discover my blogging voice.  I was having a hard time with that, determining exactly what “persona” I should be using on my blog.  I’m glad to discover that my “author persona” is sort of just like me, only wittier 😉

__________________

LAURA ORSINI (a.k.a. MARCIE BROCK). But the better way I see of taking Grandma’s challenge to heart (“You’d better find a way to make some money on it before you start the next one!”) is by offering and soliciting sponsorships. Yeah, yeah, yeah – you anti-marketing types may not like the idea. But this was a labor of love, and Grandma’s right: next time I need to get compensated for it. Not sure what form the sponsorships will take just yet – if you have any ideas, please kick them my way!

__________________

JENNI PARRY. Exploring the corners in my mind that I never acknowledged existing. There have been many prompts that I have seen little to no relevance to me or my situation, yet I sit , ponder and write at about 160 words I hit a wall and think yep that’s it… Then I keep writing to fill in the other 100 words to get to the suggested word count of 250, and POW the gems appear! The most amazing personal insights, awareness and learnings emerge on the page, things that I had no idea that I felt, knew or existed glisten on the page.

__________________

SARAH BENSON. I don’t have a huge following.  Just started this blog back in April.  But I do have more than I would’ve expected.  Also, being a participant in the Ultimate Blog Challenge, and the Author Blog Challenge and being encourage to write daily and to network with others has really helped in growing my following.  This blog would be positively useless without my followers, and so I just MUST send a shout out to all of them.

What a great way to begin your blogging, Sarah, with challenges! Good on you!

__________________

DOUG TURNBULL. Sojourn in Silesia 1940-1945 is the memoir of Arthur Evans, CBE and relates his experiences beginning in May of 1940 when he entered France as a member of the British Expeditionary Force, his subsequent wounding and capture by the Germans, his imprisonment in a German prisoner of war camp, and ending with his final liberation in May of 1945. Unlike most memoirs of World War Two, this one is not told from the point of view of a general, statesman or other grand strategist, but rather from that of an ordinary soldier: Arthur Evans was a sergeant. He tells a very engrossing, personal story, relating with considerable humility the story of his survival under sometimes horrendous conditions of exposure to the elements, brutality and near starvation.

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

