Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 24 Recap

While I’m not the athlete my sister is, I did play team sports a bit in junior high and high school. I think many would agree that the most tedious part of playing a sport is the drilling. With softball, it was stop a ground ball, throw it back to the pitcher. Catch a fly ball, throw it back to the pitcher. Stop a ground ball, throw it back to the pitcher. We’d be out in the field for what seemed like hours, waiting for our turn at batting practice. Then one, two, three, maybe four pitches to hit, and you were done. Back out to the field again.

The Author Blog Challenge reminds me a bit of that. We’re drill, drill, drilling about the less exciting aspects of the publishing process with a goal of making these pieces of the puzzle so familiar that they are second nature. Such is the case with the Day 24 prompt: describe the business aspect of your book.

The following excerpts are from yesterday’s posts about the book business and other miscellaneous thoughts from our participants.

Please click on the author’s name to read the full post.

ROBERT CHAZZ CHUTE. History: Last year, selling at 99 cents still moved some books and gained new readers. The royalty wasn’t great but it was a loss leader. Now 99 cents just seems to be a loss. I had my novella, The Dangerous Kind, up for 99 cents. It’s a great story that slides the steel home at around 10,000 words. After analysing the sales (took two seconds) I’ve taken it down. Later this week it will be back on Amazon for $2.99, bundled in with some Poeticule Bay short stories. My short story collections sell, but offering a deal on a shorter work didn’t attract readers and my short stories on Smashwords (each priced at 99 cents) aren’t moving as is so they’ll all be in one collection: The Dangerous Kind and Other Stories.

__________________

LISA CHERRY. On Saturday, as I soaked up the atmosphere at my Book Launch and I hope these pictures give you a taste, I felt something quite unique. I felt something different and something shifting. I felt the beginnings of a revolution.

Hope Lisa doesn’t mind my posting her copyrighted image
of this very cool
Soul Journey cupcake.
Wait – do you Brits use the word ‘cupcake’ or
is there some other more British word I’ve never heard of?

__________________

JENNI PARRY. Maintaining my focus of writing daily, spending time catching up if I need to and generally staying on top of things is a part-time business in itself, so far it isn’t a paying one. As it isn’t a paying one I haven’t placed the value I should have in it. Time to treat it differently and raise the level of value that I place in it. Treat it and respect it like it is already bringing in 10K a month. Radiate its value 100 fold more than I do at this moment in time.

__________________

JACKIE BLEDSOE. I have a problem.  I sometimes take on more than I can handle and don’t rely on those around me. Sometimes I think it is a pride issue, sometimes a patience issue, and even a trust issue.  I’ve learned that I am not the only one like that, there are others who take on large tasks and try to do everything themselves when they have people willing and able to to help them.  If you are one of us, I want to remind you… “You Have Help!”

__________________

T.L. BODINE. Anyway, the most important part of the whole book-writing business…is finishing the damn book. You can’t market much if you don’t have a product to sell. And that counts for subsequent books, too. You have to keep writing or else you don’t have anything to sell.

__________________

DOUG TURNBULL. In the period from 1947 through 1958, Robert A. Heinlein wrote 12 Science Fiction books that came to be known as his Juveniles. In today’s parlance they would be considered books intended for young adults: junior high and high school readers.

__________________

TIA BACH. Oprah Winfrey still has her talk show and has us on as guests. We talk about our novel and mother-daughter relationships. From there, we head to three or four of the best bookstores in Chicago, focusing on independent bookstores. Women are lined up with their daughters to talk to us and buy our book. We make sure to conserve our voices since the next day we are flying to New York City to tape some morning talk shows and hit more bookstores. (Dream big, I say.)

__________________

LIBERTY MONTANO.

The Author Blogging Challenge prompted us to interview a bibliophile. And my Mom it the grand-high priestess of bibliophiles.

Q. How many books do you buy per month?

A. My book purchases in the past few years have mainly been cookbooks, some Alaskan & Michigan history and travel guides, a few knitting books, and Kindle fictions.

Q. How many do you actually read?

A. I read everything I buy – too cheap to do otherwise! I am an avid public library supporter (sure wish my local one was a lot better) and try to get most of my fiction from there, as I rarely read the same book twice. I read, on the average, 2 books a week. I’m always, always, thumbing through cookbooks.

__________________

SARAH BENSON. Almost anyone can “craft”. However, if you want to be considered seriously (either in the online universe or in the physical world), you really should start looking at yourself as a professional. A professional can be defined by “the conduct, aims, or qualities that characterize” him/her. So, the big question comes up: “How, in this big marbled earth, do I take something so common and simple as DIY crafts, and turn it into a profession?” Simple wimple, just go back to the definition: conduct, aims, and qualities that characterize.

__________________

LORI CARTER BONN. I’ve been antsy lately… literally. They’re everywhere!! Marching across my kitchen counter, probably hiding in the coffee grinds and camouflaged for no one to detect. Sneaky little critters!

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

