Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 23 Recap

Though I was delighted to read the creative abandon with which some of the Author Blog Challenge participants approached yesterday’s prompt about making their book into a movie, I was equally surprised by how literally some of the participants took the prompt. Comments like: “I don’t know if I did this right,” and “I don’t really know how Roger Ebert would write,” sort of threw me for a loop.

The goal of a writing prompt is to get you writing. Sure, you can interpret it literally; or you can personalize it and really make it your own. I’m reminded of my Toastmasters days. There is a segment during each meeting called Table Topics, in which one person composes questions around a predetermined topic and poses them to the other attendees. The idea is to gain practice at extemporaneous speaking, the kind you might do in a job interview or author pitch. My response was the same in those meetings as it was to today’s posts: surprised by the literal interpretation of the question and equally delighted when a speaker could just take the initial question and run with it.

Please click on the author’s name to read the full post.

Recap Day 23

REBECCA FYFE. I don’t know who I would have star in my film, but I don’t think I would want it to be the big name actors and actresses that everyone knows, even if well-known names create a bigger draw. I would want them to be actors and actresses who were amazing at portraying the emotions of their characters. But I would want some new faces. I’d want my story to give someone new and talented their chance to shine.

__________________

T.L. BODINE. Ever since I first started writing, I’ve always day-dreamed about the film version of my books. My brother is a film geek, so I haul him in, too, especially when we play the casting game. I want Tagestraum to be directed by Guillermo Del Toro. He’s the guy who did Pan’s Labyrinth and both of the Hellboy movies. He also did this really excellent movie called The Devil’s Backbone which you should watch. It’s sort of the “brother” movie to Pan’s Labyrinth. It’s a ghost story, set in a boy’s boarding school/orphanage in the midst of the revolution, and it’s sad and creepy and hard-hitting and just all-around awesome.

__________________

LEANNE HUNT. [I]f I were to think of my book as a business and of my platform as my business hub, stats become an important way of measuring my success. Blogger has a very useful facility whereby they record your reader stats on a daily basis and indicate where your readers are located. According to the figures, my largest proportion of readers are to be found in the United States, which is to be expected, considering how much online marketing I do. But what is surprising is how many page views I get from unexpected sources.

__________________

HEATHER TOPHAM WOOD. Jared Corbett-A gorgeous detective with dark hair and gray eyes. He’s tall with a phenomenal body and a casual fashion sense. He can be tough when his job calls for it, but also has a very sensitive and kind side. I had to narrow it down, but my casting choices would be between Henry Cavill, Jake Gyllenhaal or Ian Somerhalder. I think the three actors fit the physical description, but Henry and Jake would probably be able to play Jared’s personality the best.

__________________

ELISE FEE.
when you look at your beloved
do you see them
truly

fully
or do you see a reflection
of your wishes
desires
dreams

__________________

SONJA HALLER. I participated in the 28-day Author Challenge and I have not blogged all 28 days. Do I feel guilty about that? No. Yes. But just a little. Because when I started I worried the ideas would run out — despite the fact that Laura Orsini provides writing prompts every day. Not only did the ideas for blogs not run out but I was delighted to find that writing and more writing sparked ideas for short stories, Arizona Republic work-related projects, and generally more inspirational mojo in my everyday living. I’ve written more in the last three weeks than ever before. True, not every day did I write a blog for the challenge but I was inspired to write something.

__________________

CIRCE DENYER. I was where I wanted to be, doing something relaxing. Then I noticed that my face was smiling. When I checked in, I realized it was because I was aware that I was thinking about what I liked about something I did a long time ago. I was pleased with the way it had turned out, and as I spoke it, I couldn’t help but be exceedingly glad.

__________________

KATHI LAUGHMAN. When artists create something, it is fully integrated into the market with their personal brand, whether the work is written, recorded, or [created via] other mediums.  It can be a challenge to allow someone else to fill in our blanks, whether that person is our reader or someone repurposing the work in another media format.

__________________

KEBBA BUCKLEY BUTTON. The second-biggest danger of the summer heat is going out of your mind.  No, seriously, in the heat, you need to keep your brain especially well hydrated and well-nourished.  Salmon is a star in the galaxy of DHA-rich foods, which keep your brain bouncy and clear-functioning.  Here is a simple recipe with some options for fun snacking later.

__________________

LAURA ORSINI (aka MARCIE BROCK). In thinking about directors, I’ve got to go back to movies I’ve enjoyed. …What’s my favorite movie of all time? Princess Bride! And look who directed it – the inimitable Rob Reiner, famous for also having directed When Harry Met Sally, A Few Good Men, The American President, The Story of Us, and The Bucket List – all of which I very much enjoyed. We have a winner! As for casting – that one is easy. And predictable. But easy. Jennifer Anniston. Who knows – while we’re at it, why not reassemble the whole cast of Friends to bring to life all the foibles and frailties uncovered in my book?

__________________

ELLIE MENDEZ. First thing would be to congratulate myself for signing that contract (who needs a soul anyway). Then I would demand Amy Heckerling (writer and director of Clueless, Look Who’s Talking, Loser and many others). I admire the way she creates light-hearted movies with a serious theme underneath them and how she converted Jane Austen’s Emma into Clueless was just perfect! So I would totally let her write the script based on my book.

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

