Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 22 Recap

OK, so some of the writing prompts are more fanciful and creative than others, right? But each one has a goal of getting you to think like the accomplished author you desire to be. The more clearly you can visualize the reality, the sooner you will bring it into existence. Such is the case with the Day 22 prompt: “Describe your first book signing real or imagined.” I loved how much fun some of the participants let themselves have with this one!

Folks must be getting tired, though. This day had the fewest participants posting so far in the Challenge: just 21. Read on for excerpts from the Author Blog Challenge participants’ descriptions of their book launches.

Please click on the author’s name to read the full post.

MERLENE FAWDRY. All went well during the talk, with attentive listeners asking the expected questions, and then the line formed – the length of which is always determined by the number of sales, each person waiting patiently, book clutched in expectation and the chance of a whispered question or two once they reached the table; a civilised gathering, with no pushing or shoving or other impatience. It was as it should be.

We were getting toward the end of the line when I heard her speak. I suppose I had been aware of her voice striding over the more contained conversations of others, but I’d taken no notice. Now she could not, would not, be ignored. She asked if I remembered her from school. I told her I didn’t. I have a good, long distance memory, but drew a blank with this one. Surely I would have remembered a voice like that.

__________________

ALEXANDER CHERRY. A ‘book signing’ as an event is almost interesting. It means an author will be present in a bookstore, which is kind of nifty. I can’t help but wonder if the author would be offended if I wanted to interact with them and NOT get a book signed.

__________________

ASHLEY HOWLAND. Well for Obi the Super Puppy the main character would have to be played by my boy Obi. There is no other dog like him. If I was calling the shots I’d have my girls play themselves. They are both beautiful and hey, if it’s all my decisions, then I might as well cash in. They could start saving up for University!!!

__________________

JO MICHAELS. I check my phone and realize it’s time to go. Grabbing my purse, I head for the door to wait on The Best Boyfriend in the World to arrive. As usual, he pulls in right on time and tells me I look beautiful before whisking me out and into his truck. He drives, I ride. And I find myself unable to stop talking. I’m nervous as hell at the prospect of meeting so many people! We arrive at the event to find images of my books and my face plastered all over the venue. I duck my head and blush because I’m not used to so much attention and fanfare.

__________________

SANDI TUTTLE. The closest I have ever come to a book signing is watching “Murder She Wrote”.  Jessica Fletcher (one of my all-time favorite characters) is always either coming from a book signing or heading to a book signing when she is diverted by a murder. If you watch enough episodes, you realize that Cabot Cove is NOT a good place to go for vacation.  It may be picturesque, but it has a distinctly unhealthy atmosphere. A wise person would avoid anyplace Jessica was scheduled to appear, just in case.

__________________

ALANA MAUTONE. I bet, though, that you are waiting for me to tell you about the typing monkeys. No, it has nothing to do Shakespeare (an idea. though. Shakespeare at the farmers market. How about it?) Instead, on Fridays,  from the start of the market in mid-June through the last Friday of August, the market brings us free musical entertainment from 12 to 1 Fridays. The artists are local, there is a good variety of musical styles, and some of the musicians are quite good. Yesterday, the market featured a local group called Monkeys Typing.

__________________

JUDITH CASSIS. Are you going to rest on your laurels or do you plan to market your book? Rest for a minute – I know, it was hard work – and then, if you want to make a buck, market that baby! Ah, here’s the disconnect. You don’t know what to do or where to begin. Got it! You’re not alone; many authors are in your place. Many garages are stacked with boxes of unsold books, too.

__________________

MELISSA KHALINSKY. There will be women lined up to buy books and to have them signed. I would also have a laptop set up for anyone who wanted to download an eBook rather than have a physical book. There would be post cards for those people if they wanted a signature (I can dream).

__________________

NIKKI MORGAN. This energy technique can work well in just a couple of minutes and can be done anywhere, anytime to help bring a sense of calm. It can also be used to discover new insights or find creative solutions to problems. Many people use this technique to find positive and exciting ideas for projects they are working on, or to find clarity in confusion.

All you need is your head and your hands.  Firstly use your middle fingers to locate the two ‘bumps’ on your forehead that are about two cm above your eyebrows. With your two middle fingers pointing towards each other, lay your fingers horizontally across your forehead to cover the ‘bumps’ and apply very gentle pressure. Leave your fingers there and take some nice deep breaths. It is that simple!

__________________

DOROTHY RUPPERT. There has been a long and tragic disconnect between churches and mental health issues. I once spoke with a pastor who told me there was no mental illness in his parish. REALLY? In a church of 1,000 contributing members, there was no one who suffered from mental illness? The statistics show that one in four persons will experience a brain disorder sometime in their lifetime. Was he serious? What planet did he live on? Talk about being out of touch with his community!! Perhaps he was from the group that believes that mental illness is demon possession and not a physical illness of the brain. If so, it might be safer to shove mental illness under a rug rather than deal with messy demons!

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

