Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 18 Recap

That ubiquitous blurb. It doesn’t show up on a book by magic. Someone  presumably the author has to go out and solicit it, get a yes from the source, secure the text of the blurb, get it to the book designer, and then hope it works its magic to help the author create credibility and interest. Some of our author participants have given the issue quite a bit of thought; for others, it was something new to ponder.

Read on for excerpts from Author Blog Challenge participants who explain their thoughts on whom to ask for a blurb, as well as those about a few other interesting subjects, also!

Please click on the author’s name to read the full post.

LORI CARTER BONN.

I’ve ‘missed’ more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve ‘lost’ almost 300 games. 26 times I’ve been trusted to make the game winning shot…and ‘missed’. I failed over and over and over again in my life…and that is why I succeed! — Michael Jordan

Because of our perfectionism we don’t risk growing more. We choose safe. What we know. I sit here grappling with how many things I ‘could have’ accomplished. If only I was willing to ‘fail’.

__________________

MELISSA KHALINSKY. To be honest, [getting a blurb for my book] isn’t something I’ve thought of yet… With the Accidental WAHM books, I would love to get a work at home Mum who started her business by accident and has turned her business into a huge success. Where possible, a WAHM who has something to do with the main character of the story.

__________________

RACHEL EDGE. Well, you may have noticed that I did not post a blog yesterday. This was not a funding problem based on wasting too much Internet usage on perving at blokes on a dating site. Oh no! That was me attempting to try a new form of blog communication via the power of your mind. If you did not receive the post yesterday, well, what can I say? It takes a powerful mind to receive the new kind of blog! I do hope you all received it.

__________________

LIBERTY MONTANO. I think everyone is looking for that silver bullet to make all the [social media] pain go away. I hate to be the one to tell you this, there isn’t one. What works for me, may not work for you. What worked for that guy (who got all big and famous) probably won’t work for you. I do believe there are two crucial questions each of us must answer before we can find sustainable success (and sanity) with social media. (1) Why are you doing this? (2) Where are your limits?

__________________

LISA CHERRY. How do you articulate your voice and thoughts into the written word? How do ‘speak’ to your audience as a writer? It’s all too easy to write what you think people want to read in a style that they want to read, but what matters is being yourself and saying what you want to say in the way that you want to say it.

__________________

JEN CHATFIELD. I’ve been feeling uninspired lately when it comes to blogging. And I’m blogging about it. Which is kind of like saying I’m not thirsty while sipping a frosty beverage. Maybe it’s because most of my energy and free time lately have been devoted to my current WIP. I’m currently 35K+ words in (wrote 5K yesterday alone) and loving it more and more with every word. Honestly, I don’t even know what prompt we’re on in the challenge…but it doesn’t really matter anyway since a lot of the recent posts really don’t apply to me as a mostly unpublished writer.

__________________

DOUG TURNBULL. The Rolling Stones was copyrighted in 1952 by Robert A. Heinlein and published by Charles Scribner’s Sons of New York in that same year. Like several of the Heinlein juveniles, this book is beautifully illustrated by Clifford Geary. The Rolling Stones novel is a departure from the earlier juveniles in that the main characters are the entire Stone family. Instead of a single teenaged male character, this story is populated by Roger Stone, a retired engineer and current writer of Science Fiction teleplays; his mother, Hazel Meade Stone; Edith Stone, MD, Roger’s wife and the mother of their four children. These children include Meade, their teenage daughter, Lowell, also known as Buster, a pre-school aged son, and Castor and Pollux, their young teen twins who are geniuses but otherwise normal young fellows.

__________________

TIA BACH. Let’s be honest, covers were an important marketing tool in bookstores. When readers browsed, the cover was their first impression of a book. A striking cover could compel me to pick up any book, taking away any preconceived notions I had about what I liked and didn’t like in story or genre. A great cover backed up by a wonderful back cover summary was all I needed.

__________________

JO HARRISON interview with T.L. Bodine.                   
Q. 
Why are you taking part in the author blog challenge and what do you hope to achieve?

A.  I always see other bloggers I follow taking part in challenges or prompts, and I always think, “That looks like fun. Why aren’t I doing that, too?” but always miss the opportunity. So I was very happy to find out about this one before it started. I think it’s a great way to connect with other writers and build a community, which is probably the single coolest thing about writing in the Internet age.

__________________

REBECCA FYFE. I haven’t put that much thought into who I could or will ask to write a blurb for my books. I have some friends who are published authors who I could ask. I would only ask them if they were published within the same genre as my book. It would be a dream come true to get a well-known author to write a blurb for my book. I have some well-known authors as “friends” on Facebook and as “followers” on Twitter, but some are not as interactive as others.
Ideally, I would love to get to go to some writing conferences in the future and meet some of these authors in person.

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

__________________

