Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 16 Recap

As with virtually all the prompts, it was interesting to read about the various participants’ choices, decisions, and processes when it came to formatting, printing, and distribution of their books. The Day 16 prompt asked, essentially, eBook or traditionally printed? And why that choice?

Here are a few lines from several Author Blog Challenge participants on that topic, as well as those about a few other interesting subjects, too!

Please click on the author’s name to read the full post.

ALEXANDER CHERRY. I decided to do a printed book because I love printed books. I was wary about doing PDF publishing (this was 2004). But in the end, I wanted my game available to anyone, and the independent rpg market included people in far flung parts of the world. So, I bowed to the social pressures.

__________________

ASHLEY HOWLAND. Both of my books were published by Strategic Book Group. They are printed on demand, here in Australia. There are also printing facilities in NZ and the US. How did I come to that decision? They accepted my book! Well it really is that simple. I had tried publishing companies here in Australia, but not too many accept unsolicited manuscripts. I was going to look into self publishing, when Strategic accepted Ghostnapped on a trial contract. I had to sell 300 copies to prove myself. I managed that and they published my second book, where I was required to sell 100 copies before it went into print. I achieved that goal too!

__________________

NIKKI MORGAN. Times are changing, and the electronic book is gaining strength, and power. The door is opening for ANYONE to write a book, publish an e-book and start to realise their dream of becoming an author. Through trial, error, internet searching, and signing up for webinar after webinar, I managed to learn enough, and actually get my book across the finishing line on a totally ZERO dollar budget!

__________________

JO MICHAELS. I chose Createspace and Smashwords by reading reviews online. I research EVERY company I do business with (so does my boyfriend) and we seek an outside opinion always. I find this to be a good way to expect the unexpected. Be prepared for the worst.

I decided to self-publish for a number of reasons:

1. I queried agents but they couldn’t figure out my market so they declined.
2. I wanted control. Yes, I am a control freak (this surprises you? Really?).
3. The artist in me cringed at letting someone else decide on my design.
4. I had the time.
5. It was the best option for me.

__________________

JAMIE SALOFF. Are you ready to face the truth about who you are as a writer, how you want to live, and initiate change to create it? As an author and an avid reader, I’m always collecting quotes that inspire me. Today I came across one that stopped me flat. Staring me down in the stone-cold mirror of truth appeared this beauty from Jonah Lehrer’s book IMAGINE, referencing Bob Dylan:

Dylan decided that he was leading an impossible life, that this existence couldn’t be sustained… ‘I realized I was very drained,’ Dylan would later confess. ‘I was playing a lot of songs I didn’t want to play. I was singing words I didn’t really want to sing . . . It’s very tiring having other people tell you how much they dig you if you yourself don’t dig you.’

__________________

ALANA MAUTONE. Too many people are turned off by history, thinking of the dull, lifeless presentation of history too many of us endured in school.  I’ve always loved history and want to try to make it more accessible to people. So how is this for a start? [In a] 2010 feature in the Utah Deseret News, a woman [named] Bashie Thomander, talks about her father, who fought in the Civil War on the Union side. Yes, she was 94 when interviewed, and yes, her father was 74 when she was born.

__________________

NATASHA DEONARAIN. Do you want to hear a scary story about a “friend” of mine? Although it’s a long way off until Halloween, these stories seem to be drifting out of drywall like restless ghosts. My hypothetical “friend” Hope goes to see Dr. X, her primary care physician. She’s tired all the time, depressed and constipated. She can’t seem to lose weight despite starving herself. She suffers from aches and pains all over, and can’t find any joy in her life anymore. Her work and family life are falling apart.

__________________

DOROTHY RUPPERT. Today, I want to salute all the fathers, especially those who have a child that has a disability. My husband is one of those courageous men. In August 2012, he will be a father for fifty years and has been a grandfather for more than thirty years. He was a big encourager for our daughter, who suffered from bipolar disorder. Even though his words were few, his love for her was unconditional.

__________________

ELLIE MENDEZ. I haven’t bought a physical book in some time (other than graphic novels), but according to one of my clients, her digital sales nearly doubled once she introduced her book in print. Our theory is that the book comes up in the regular Amazon book store and when a potential client clicks on it for more details, they see a digital book at a lower price and decide to buy that instead. Either way, she’s happy she added the printed version.

If you missed it, please check out Ellie’s  reader interview post. She interviewed herself – a wonderfully creative approach to that prompt!

__________________

CIRCE DENYER. When you realize that love is fleeting and like is powerful, you may come to the conclusion that you cannot decide [between the two]. I say, don’t make that choice. Realize that these two very different relationship components can come from different people in our lives and hold different meaning for us.

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

__________________

