Tags

, , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 13 Recap

There’s no question that publishing a book is a complicated process with many differentiated steps. Like most authors, the participants in the Author Blog Challenge found certain aspects more challenging than others. Here are excerpts from a few of the posts from Day 13. Enjoy!

Please click on the author’s name to read the full post.

LEANNE HUNT. When I set out to get the book into print and considered the self-publishing option, I had virtually no web presence. No blog, no Twitter or Facebook accounts, no facility to add comments to other bloggers posts. All I had was a column in a web magazine called Through Lattice Windows which had been running for about five months. In other words, I was totally inexperienced on the internet and, frankly, daunted by its magnitude. But I read somewhere that writing the book is only half the process. The other half is marketing it, which means branding yourself and promoting your work either online or in bookstores and the press. Being more or less housebound, it made sense to me to go for the online route and so I had no choice but to raise my internet profile.

__________________

ROBERT CHAZZ CHUTE. Have a point of view. Yes, some people may hate you for it, but that’s better than being bland and not speaking your mind. Tell the truth, even when you’re lying through your face and your fiction. Why? Because (1) it’s honest, and (2) who will read bland? Some authors avoid controversy thinking they will keep a wider audience. Wrong. Wimps don’t get respect. Besides, you don’t want to act like a wimp because that’s not who you are. You are a writer. Publishing your book and putting yourself out there for critics to judge is an act of courage.

__________________

ALEXANDER CHERRY. Marketing is my weakness. I cannot market. I do not have the skillset, nor do I think I have the biology. I cannot even market myself in social situations (including successfully building a social circle, establishing friendships and other types of relationships, et cetera) – so to try to market something that I made just leads to disaster.

__________________

ASHLEY HOWLAND. Marketing! Wow I never thought that word would take so much of my time. It is hard to imagine how much advice there is out there, but does any of it really work? As a new author you think that getting your book published is the hard part, but no, the marketing can really spin your head.

__________________

NIKKI MORGAN. My biggest challenge was definitely the actual creation of all those pages of information in a format that others would understand and learn from. I had so many notes, pieces of paper scribbled in the most unlikely places, but if I did not scribble the minute I thought of an additional inclusion, the idea would just disappear into idea oblivion and I would try and rack my brain to bring it back.

__________________

MELISSA KHALINSKY. Right now, [the  most challenging part of writing my book is] writing and having enough time to write. I long for the day when I can be a full time writer… During school hours, I work at a job. After school, I’m being “Mum” and running the kids around, supervising homework, and all the other things a Mum needs to do. Most of my writing time is in the evenings, and there are some days I’m too tired to do as much as I would like to do.

__________________

JO MICHAELS. Marketing and formatting have taken the cake for being the most challenging part of my book process. Smashwords also provided some frustrations. Allow me to provide you with a few guides. 

Formatting: Now, formatting an e-book is easy cakes if you’ve done it before. You understand that you should never ever ever tab at the beginning of a paragraph and every space after a period should be single. You know to compose with a normal paragraph style in word and not to have auto formatting turned on to parse hyperlinks or correct errant spelling errors. That being said, if you don’t know those thing to begin with, formatting an e-book is a royal pain in the arse.

__________________

DOROTHY RUPPERT. I wish treating mental illness could be like taking an aspirin for a headache or an antibiotic for an infection. Unfortunately, it is not that simple. To the ordinary individual, treating mental illness seems more like a roll of the dice because there are no specific tests available to diagnose mental disorders. An acquaintance of mine often says, “Mental health is an art, not a science.”

__________________

JACKIE BLEDSOE. The NBA Finals started Tuesday night, and being the basketball fan/junkie that I am, I was watching of course. During a commercial break, Pepsi aired a commercial that instantly became one of my favorite commercials.  You may have watched it Tuesday night, or seen the viral YouTube video that the commercial is based on.

__________________

JEN CHATFIELD. For me, the absolute, hands-down hardest part of my book process so far has been querying. Who would have thought that a woman who can write multiple novels of 70K+ words can’t write a 250 word advertisement for said novels? It’s insane. I’ve done a lot of difficult things in my life, overcome at least a few obstacles, and to struggle with 250 words? Maddening.

__________________

LORI CARTER BONN. Just finished watching the movie, “The Vow.”… A woman gets in an accident –  loses her memory, (well, part of it). … And I got to thinkin’ what a ‘gift’ memory loss could be for so many of us. To forget the past. To live AS IF it never happened. (The bad parts, that is.) And to newly discover all the down right amazing things that drew you to your spouse, with a fresh pair of eyes. As if for the first time. A do over.

__________________

ALANA MAUTONE. When I was 10 years old, I broke my leg, and was treated at a hospital in the Bronx.  I had to go back to the hospital periodically to see the doctors during my recovery.   On one visit, at the hospital gift store, one of my parents bought me a book to read.  I don’t know how or why, but they picked A Princess of Mars, by Edgar Rice Burroughs. It changed my life.

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

__________________

