Tags

, , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 12 Recap

Since Day 12’s prompt was about cover design, we got to see a lot of great cover art! I’m truly loving hearing about each author’s process when it comes to all the elements of putting a book together. Some brave pre-published authors came and played with us around this prompt. Even if you’re still writing (or thinking about writing) that book, it’s not too soon to be thinking about what you might want your cover to look like. Remember, according to selfpublishingresources.com, 225 out of 300 booksellers surveyed identified the look and design of the book cover as the most important component of the entire book.

Please enjoy these excerpts from a few of the Day 12 posts! As always, we have lots who followed the prompts, as well as those who wrote on other topics of interest to them and their readers.

REBCCA FYFE. This [prompt] doesn’t really apply to me as I don’t have a cover for any of my books yet. Just for fun though, I took a photo from one of my husband’s Fairy Magic photo manipulations and gave it the title of one of my short stories. (No, I do not intend to create my own book covers, but my books aren’t finished yet, so it doesn’t hurt for me to play.)

I love that you were willing to play with this prompt even though you’re not at that phase yet, Rebecca!

__________________

MERLENE FAWDRY. I designed the cover for The Hidden Risks. I had studied design and layout as one of my diploma subjects so had some understanding of where to begin – and hopefully end. I wanted the cover to hold the essence of what a book is about, not always an easy task to condense a book of a hundred plus pages down to a single image. Whether fiction or non-fiction, it is essential to find a core image or artwork-that best represents the book.

__________________

SAHM ATAINE KING. I happen to be the designer of my book cover.  I’m a graphic designer, so I may have an advantage wherein I don’t have to seek an artist to create covers for me.  I take a massive amount of pride out of this fact.

__________________

JUDITH CASSIS. That tool box handed down through the generations is packed with obsolete gizmos. Sure, there are also a few that still work, but if we don’t know how to use them what good are they? Authors (and others) are doing one of two things: either they’re banging their heads against the wall and complaining about why things don’t appear as they once did, or they are backing up, reassessing and reinventing themselves in response to what appears to be the New Economy.

__________________

LIBERTY MONTANO. The next time I need graphic work done, I will think more about what I want so I can better describe it. I have a bad habit of leaving it all up to the artist’s vision, I need to speak up and get my vision is in there too. As soon as my first book is done, I will be knocking down Barry Curry’s door. That is if the hubster hasn’t filled his docket. I may even let him put scantily clad characters on the cover. LOL

__________________

CKAY BROOKS. We Americans think we are fair, just and kindhearted – or at least we convince ourselves that we are trying our best. In case you’ve forgotten, or are of the younger generation that missed this history lesson: many centuries ago the common people were hungry and pleaded with their queen for assistance. When she was told her countrymen had no bread to eat, she shrugged, not understanding that they were starving because they had no food to eat. Her words, “let them eat cake” literally went down in history for the ages.

__________________

ELISE FEE.
it’s been one of those days
the ink cartridge exploded
like a juice box
the cat’s tail got caught
in the sliding door
the sink drain stopped up
(you don’t even want to know with what)
your son proudly did the laundry
now your best white blouse
is pinkish beige

__________________

JODI ROSENBERG. There are barriers to apologizing and forgiving inherent in relationships. Let’s face it we all make mistakes in our relationships. We speak without thinking. We misinterpret. We rush. We get distracted. We don’t think things clear through. At times we second guess ourselves and our relationships which can lead to poor decision making. And sometimes we are in relationships with the wrong people, they do not delight us and the relationship does not nurture us.

__________________

T.L. BODINE. I daydream about covers a lot.  It’s probably not very productive daydreaming, since I’ll have basically zero control over the finished product when the book finally gets published, but I like thinking about them anyway.  I also like to cast actors for the film version of my unpublished (and often unwritten) books, so daydreaming about things beyond my control is par for the course.

Tia, you’ll have lots of control over the cover if you self-publish!

__________________

DOUG TURNBULL. Space Cadet is the second of the [Robert A.] Heinlein Juveniles. Copyrighted in 1948, it was published by Charles Scribner’s Sons of New York in that same year. Unlike Rocket Ship Galileo, Space Cadet is set in the late 21st century, far in the future for the time it was written.

__________________

KEBBA BUCKLEY BUTTON. Think of the top 3 disappointing events you’ve had in life.  Maybe you were in a relationship you believed in, and suddenly it was over. How about the time you had your heart set on a job, you knew you were the prime candidate, and you didn’t get it? Then there was that friend who suddenly cut you off, with a weird reason or no reason.  Remember how much that hurt? Enter, the Pinball Machine Theory of Life.

__________________

CRYTAL LEE. Oh my, I should have Jo Michaels answer this, because I’m such a spaz about it, there’s no real way to describe it. At first I wanted to go with landscapes for the cover, similar to Zardo’s stuff, but she explained to me how that doesn’t show up very well and gets convoluted when it’s thumbnail size through the retailers. I have offered suggestions along the way, and since I suck at anything artistic at all, I let her really fly with it and she surprises me with the stuff she can create.

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

__________________

