Tags

, , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 11 Recap

Smart bloggers include images with their posts, right? That’s actually been one of the most interesting aspects to reading all the various posts on any particular writing prompt. Many of the Author Blog Challenge participants are writing on the same (or very similar) topics, yet all are managing to come up with different images. Nice to see how different creative minds work!

Next up is our Day 11 recap of posts about the editing process. Loved hearing the different ways various authors approach editing. Also a few posts on other topics, including graduations!

MATT MORAN. My 3rd child, Christopher, graduated from high school last Friday. He has been, to date, my most challenging. Given my 4th’s proclivity toward intelligent and rational thought, Christopher will probably hold on to that dubious honor. But kudos to him; he pulled a lot of stuff together this past year or so.

__________________

JENNI PARRY. Welcome to my nightmare… I find the idea of someone coming in reading my words, twisting them, massacring them, altering them, and in doing so completely changing the meaning and flow of the book one of the scariest and most confronting parts of the journey to becoming a published author.

__________________

RAVEN SIKER. One of my favorite ways to work through writing is to take two characters and create a dialogue between them. Every time, no matter how short the dialogue, there is an inevitable story created between the individuals. It’s a particularly wonderful practice when there is romance or conflict — or both! — because the dialogue really shows the characters in a sort of mystery-light.

__________________

SARAH BENSON. To spare you all the dirty details, let’s just say that I did a lot of car traveling today, with my three children (two toddlers and an infant) – halfway with my husband, the other half with my parents.  I had a lot of time to contemplate the mysteries that is life. Yeah. Probably not that deep. But, I did do some reflection on businessings (totally made that up – it means that act of running a business), with two focuses.  The one I want to talk about tonight is advertising and what I managed to learn from billboards.  This idea of marketing relates to both authors AND sellers.

Love the author marketing insights on this one!

__________________

LAURA ORSINI (aka MARCIE BROCK). As a professional editor, my ego almost got in the way when it came to having my own book edited. It wasn’t that I didn’t think it needed editing (actually, it needed less editing than proofreading); it was more a matter of who would be good enough to work on my book?

Yes, even the host gets to promote her own posts once in a while.

__________________

CIRCE DENYER. You might say I like my kids. But, like is different from love. … You might say she likes her computer, her cats, her work. See how much easier it is to say this about those kinds of things? But, when I say I like my kids, or I like my mom, you can’t really assume it is true. Many people do like their kids and their parents. Like them, want to spend their FREE time with them. Many do not. Many just love their kids and their parents.

__________________

SANDI TUTTLE. I have often wondered what it would be like to work with an editor.  Someone who would help me fine tune my writing, while teaching me how to do better on future stories. That’s one thing I haven’t found as a blogger – an editor. I do get comments, and I am thankful for every one. I learn so much from how other people ‘see’ my voice. Even if they think I am a boneheaded idiot, I find something that helps me improve with every new smidge of feedback.

__________________

HEATHER TOPHAM WOOD. Ugh editing, probably my least favorite part of the writing process. I know people who feel the exact opposite. They love going back over their stories with a fine tooth comb and fixing everything that’s wrong with them. I consider my strength free writing. I spit out a first draft like nobody’s business. Every scene has been worked out in my head a million times over before I even type a single word. What I found the most helpful thing to do in editing is walk away for awhile.

__________________

LISA CHERRY. I am nothing without all of the people in my life who allow me to be something, whether it’s my special people or it is the person in South Africa who reads my online writing or the person in my street who buys my book. Every person that connects with me is important, needed and part of what makes this all happen. For my first book alone, I needed 15 Contributors: a Proof Reader, an Editor, a Designer, a Mentor, several Friends to listen to me droning on about my inadequacies, an Artist, a Cleaner (well it would have been nice!), my children to make me stop working and cook a meal (and the rest!) and of course, a Publisher. I’m certain I’ve missed out someone but you get the picture.

__________________

PETER FAUR. Two weeks ago, my wife, son and I traveled to Portland, Ore., to watch my daughter, Kate, receive a doctoral degree in naturopathic medicine from the National College of Natural Medicine. It’s not a career path I anticipated for her, but I’m proud that she’s pursuing it. When we tell friends in our hometown, St. Louis, about Kate’s chosen profession, the reaction ranges from curiosity to polite skepticism to, in one case, near hostility.

__________________

RACHEL EDGE. Something I do understand is the internet. I was sick of selling myself like an old ebay, chipped, second hand Elvis ashtray from 1980 so I took myself off the dating site. I am sure I will be back on it by the weekend, but for now? For now, I am not cheap. I am not free to a good home. I am not collection only. I am myself again for a good few days and I intend to enjoy it. I am now a vintage, please don’t touch the items on the shelf, dusty, squeezy old cushion from 1980. The kind you want but can’t afford.

__________________

CARIANN McCREADY. Somehow June got away from me and I had to push the pause button on my creative writing. I had hoped to spend some quality time this past weekend writing/ blogging but alas that didn’t happen. I did manage to spend the other night going through an accordion file full of notes, story starts, forms (for character analysis and plot mapping). I found several story starts that are screaming to be explored, literally the file is sitting on the floor next to my bed and when I climb into bed I see the bright purple plastic and it seems to be screaming at me to pick it up and explore the trails that I started at various points in my life.

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

__________________

