Tags

, , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 8 Recap

So how does it feel to be one week into the Author Blog Challenge? Lots of great posts continue to pour forth from our very talented pool of participants! If you missed yesterday’s posts on our Facebook group page, here are a few excerpts from posts for Day 8 of the Author Blog Challenge.

The prompt for yesterday’s posts was about the authors’ research process. Turns out, the process is a little the same and a little different for most of us!

SARAH BENSON. Writing can get very frustrating: You are battling writer’s block, editing frustrations, publishing issues, lack of inspiration, etc. Crafting can also get very frustrating: You are battling every other crafter, lack of inspiration, technical difficulties, etc. Sometimes, you might even wander “is this really all worth it?” YES! It is all really worth it! You have something amazing to offer to the world. Don’t let them miss out on it just because you quit on that one yard line.

__________________

SANDI TUTTLE. Even though I love meeting people, the reality is that I would never be able to do what I do without the Internet.  I can travel anywhere I imagine, while enjoying the comforts of my own home.  My own coffee pot and bathroom and work I love doing.  No airport delays.  No TSA pat-downs.  No screaming kids on the plane (not to be confused with “Snakes on a Plane”).  No worry about bed bugs or lousy food.  No traffic jams, no parallel parking (Thank God), EZPass lanes, rest stops or messed up GPS directions.

__________________

SAHM ATAINE KING. I have no research process.  Being a fan of Stephen Colbert, I value “truthiness”.  In short, I really just make things up (which is why I write fiction).

__________________

LISA CHERRY. Social media is a gift. It has made the world a cosy lounge where we can all hang out and share and love and give and learn. It ticks every box for me because of that.  The cost and time implication of completing my book would have been far too great had I not had the power of social media to help me. A door that may well have been quite inaccessible to me was now a door to which I had a key.

__________________

RACHEL EDGE. I find it very funny that although I can publish my own book, set its price and chuck it about the internet I can’t actually sell any! Trust me, it is worth a few quid and I have read worse. Did you know I have to sell £50.00’s worth of the book before Amazon will let me have any money for it? I will leave getting rich for a while.

__________________

HEATHER TOPHAM WOOD. Layla from Be Not Afeard was awesome enough to nominate me for two awards: Inspiring Blog Award and Reader Appreciation Award. She’s a phenomenally talented writer who provides outstanding writing advice. I have to say I am so psyched for this. I started this blog in February to promote the release of my book and it has grown leaps and bounds from there. I’m now involved in several blog challenges, weekly memes and review circles. I’ve met the most amazing readers and writers since then and I can’t wait to meet many more!

__________________

DEE ANKARY. You see, writing, like developing software or creating a painting masterpiece, never quite feels finished.  You can always add one more adjective here, another phrase there, add one sparkly feature to the application, and so on. I know that I keep tinkering with the content – post or ebook – until I have to force myself to just let it go.

__________________

ANNE McAULEY. Being lead dog is a pretty new thing for me. I think I am doing a pretty good job because I have only eaten some paper and peppermint foot lotion while left alone as lead dog. Until a few weeks ago my brother Fathom was the lead dog. He went to the big dog park in the sky.  He taught me a lot of great things and a few that my parents might say aren’t so good…BOL! (BOL – that’s LOL for dogs.)

__________________

CKAY BROOKS. If you found yourself on foot in an unfamiliar city, how would you feed yourself on twenty dollars a day per Diem? A very nice room is provided in a very nice hotel, not far from a mall of sorts and the ‘old down town’ tourist area. But your one hundred and fifty dollar a night room doesn’t provide breakfast, a refrigerator or even WIFI, much less good tasting tap water. This weekend I found myself in that situation.

__________________

CIRCE DENYER. It doesn’t surprise me that Like.com comes up as a Google page. If you were Google, wouldn’t you want that one? It doesn’t give us anything accept information that this one ” will drive new ideas for apparel shopping.” So that’s it? Like is assigned to apparel shopping? No wonder we are a lost society. We can’t even get Google to give us something in the “Like” department.

Check out the great images Circe has included with this post!

__________________

JUDITH CASSIS. Writing When Life Knocks You Down, Get Up, I began with the intention of using a pen name. I didn’t want anyone to know my secrets. So much of my life was mired by my own private pain, behind my smile, beneath the mask. No one knew the truth of how I felt inside. An extrovert, I’ve always been surrounded by people. This, too, was a lie. I’ve always felt alone.

__________________

DOUG TURNBULL. Elderly shipping tycoon, Andrew Smithers goes spelunking in a Martian cavern he once explored as a young man and discovers more than he bargained for.  Set in the early 22nd century, this story gives the reader an idea of what life on Mars was like a century after first being settled. Andrew Smither’s life spanned that century and as he recalled it, we get a feel for the new society that was created.

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

__________________

