Tags

, , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 5 Recap

Here’s a recap of the posts for the third day of the Author Blog Challenge. If you missed them on our Facebook group page, here are my favorite vignettes from a few of the posts for Day 5 of the Author Blog Challenge.

Many folks used the prompt we provided about their favorite characters, but a some also posted on other topics. Understandably, the numbers are beginning to dwindle a bit — but we also still have new participants signing on daily! Please click the names to read the full posts…

The italic comments following some of the posts are mine. LO
__________________

MERLENE FAWDRY. These challenges are becoming more difficult each day. I’ve spent most of yesterday and half the night trying to think of a favourite literary character before realising that if I had to think that hard to come up with a name, I clearly didn’t have one that stood out as a favourite. Does this mean I’m fickle? Stepping into their lives when it suits me, engaging with them emotionally and sharing their journey, only to forget them at the closing of the last chapter? Mind you, it’s very much a one way relationship. Sure they bare their heart and soul, expose the dark secrets of their lives and sometimes show even more than I want to see, but I’m ever aware this is not exclusive to me and they tell their story to all comers – open the first page and, zip, you’re in. So with no favourites, at least there are the memorable ones.

This captured my feelings precisely, Merlene! LO
__________________

ROBERT CHAZZ CHUTE. This isn’t a dodge and I don’t mean to fall into douchey pimping, but the truth is my favorite literary character is whichever one I’m writing at this moment. I have several works on the go, so let me introduce the interesting people I hang out with while strangers assume I’m staring off into space and drooling…

Click this link to meet Chazz’s characters. BTW, I think we should make “douchey” the word of the day tomorrow at Toastmasters!
__________________

SAHM ATAINE KING. This man was an animal!  When he destroyed Grendel and his mother, I was in awe.  The savagery with which he accomplished his heroic deeds served as the inspiration for a hero I’m currently modeling after him and the mythological “Lucifer.”  Without a doubt, Beowulf is my favorite literary character.
__________________

T.L. BODINE. I am much more likely to develop a crush on a character than relate to one. … You could probably plumb the deep, hidden recesses of my psyche and think of some really disturbing things to think about me from my taste in fictional men. Never minding the fact that a handful of them aren’t even actually human. Ahem.
__________________

BECKY FYFE. Now, if I had to say the one that comes to mind who is the most like me, I would have to say Molly Weasley from J. K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series. The similarity is mostly superficial though. I am a redhead. I have seven children, and I would do anything, including put my own life at risk, to keep my children safe and happy. I also have a tendency to mother my children’s friends. Now if only I shared her ability to perform magic! Maybe, just maybe I’d then be able to keep my house clean.
__________________

LAURA ORSINI (aka MARCIE BROCK). I’ve never been the most careful of readers or one of those people who re-reads books again and again. I’m much more likely to give away fiction once I’ve read it than I am to let a nonfiction book go out the door. I always used the “I’m not a lit major” excuse for being less-well read than I felt I could or should have been. That might have worked back in college; now I think I just need to own that I usually just read what I like. Even in school, I rarely read all the works we were assigned. I still got A’s because I’d spend the first half of the class listening to the discussions of the assigned readings, and only pipe in toward the end, my comments based on what the others had said rather than my actual reading of the text. I’ve probably read 40 to 50% of the books on any of those classic book lists that we all were “supposed” to have read to be well educated, well rounded, and well read.

Yes, even the host gets to promote her own posts once in a while.
__________________

DOUG TURNBULL. “Serious” books for adults and young adults do not have illustrations these days. … I am trying to bring back illustrations. Unlike most modern science fiction, all of my books and stories have interior line drawings, appendices, maps, diagrams and so forth. I have employed a couple of fine artists over the last five years. Joe Hardwick of Lexington, Kentucky illustrated my first two books while Dheeraj Verma of New Delhi, India has been illustrating my current work.  Both do excellent work, although they have distinctly different styles.
__________________

JAMIE SALOFF. Joan of Arcs (or “Joe” of Arc, if you’re a guy), are living within a sphere of influence where those around them believe differently than them. They are not making up the fact that they will have to come clean about their beliefs and at last reveal their shrouded true selves by putting this work forward. They truly do not know how they will be received in their new guise by family and others who they love and care about.  … While it’s true that some authors will face repercussions from what they write, and often from the people they least expect, the fears of a Joan of Arc writer can be reconciled and allayed.
__________________

ANNE McAULEY.
Sometimes when you leave me alone
All I do is eat my bone
Other times I bark
And wish you would take me to the park
I never wrote poetry
Until you left me no way to pee
Now I sit alone
Wishing I could find a bone
__________________

JODI ROSENBERG. Character Benefits of a Forgiving Heart: #5 Makes way for the lesson of the situation. Forgiveness opens us to question and learn the lesson from the situation. Forgiveness requires us to be objective and less emotional, which in turn opens us to receiving the messages from our intuition, others individuals, and the universe.
__________________

KEBBA BUCKLEY BUTTON. Do you ever wonder why some people always cheerfully achieve success, while others are down in mood and fail at many doorsteps of opportunity?  Success is very much in your mind.  Your mind takes instruction from your thoughts, and your nervous system acts them out.
__________________

NATASHA DEONARAIN. First, conventional doctors don’t know jack about health. So don’t go to a conventional doctor to get healthy. The absence of disease does not equal health. Second, health is life. Everything you do is health. Learn this. Know this. Live this. Every day. … Finally, you need to know that your health is a state of mind. If you think, act and live health, you are health. What you believe is what you are.

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

