Tags

, , , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 4 Recap

Lots of great posts on the fourth day of the Author Blog Challenge! If you missed them on our Facebook group page, here are a few excerpts from posts for Day 4 of the Author Blog Challenge.

We had some posts on the daily prompt – the exploring how what you read affects your writing, but many also posted on other topics. Please click the names to read the full posts. Enjoy!

MERLENE FAWDRY. I believe that as writers, we are influenced by everything we read, either subconsciously or consciously,  if only in a  small way, and carry this through into our own writing. So I suppose my writing would change from broadened reading experience and I might return to a more joyful state of literary freedom.  Who knows?  It’s worth a try. Isn’t it?

__________________

ASHLEY HOWLAND. Personally I still enjoy reading children’s novels. I do this so I can find new and fantastic books for my girls, but also to inspire and perfect my own writing. I will happily read anything with action and adventure. I enjoyed The Hunger Games series, and love the whole Tomorrow When the World Began series as well. Obviously the Harry Potter series was amazing. Non kids books??? Well I do read them; personally I have recently been reading Tony Park and Jodi Picoult. I have found their books engaging for completely different reasons. I will try any book recommended to me, but am not afraid to quit if I am not interested. I need books that keep moving.

__________________

ROBERT CHAZZ CHUTE. Too much description limits your readers’ imaginations and puts their visions in little boxes that belong only to you. Be more generous and don’t assume your reader is an idiot. They’ve seen people in their lives. They’ll fill in the blanks. The readers want some ownership of the story in the theatre of their minds, too. Don’t describe too much. Was it Dashiell Hammet who said his hero was “knuckly” and left it at that? Too much description has become a cliché that often opens a lot of books: the main character inspects himself in the mirror before heading off for work. They preen and describe themselves to the reader. Don’t. Instead, please let the action and dialogue carry me along. Let me insert my own vision of your characters. I’ll have a picture in my mind before long and I might even be annoyed if the author’s description differs with my own.

__________________

JUDITH CASSIS. Humanity has fostered a culture of storytellers since we first began communicating. We began with gestures, pictures and scribbles. And then we learned to use words to share our stories. Whether you believe it right now or not, people want to hear what you have to say, and if you tell it in the right way, you’ll captivate them.

__________________

HEATHER TOPHAM WOOD. Although YA books are usually the top of my list, I do like a change from time to time. During these periods, I typically enjoy a romance novel, a thriller or a true crime book. A few favorite books from these areas include Columbine by David Cullen, Gone Baby Gone by Dennis Lehane, Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella, A Time to Kill by John Grisham, the Heiress by Jude Deveraux and Lothaire by Kresley Cole. These types of novels are astoundingly helpful for creating suspenseful and romantic scenes in my Second Sight series.

__________________

SANDI TUTTLE. I’m not sure that what I read has a tremendous impact on what I write.  I write about what I see in life, not what I read about fantasy.  I do believe that people who do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it, so I suppose what I read about history affects my point of view on some subjects.

__________________

RACHEL EDGE. It has been hard to stay relaxed considering all these nutters who are whittering on about a jubilee or something but I have remained calm and I am holidaying sufficiently. I do like the royal family, as other families go they are probably my favourite except fro this one family down the road who are always very nice to me.

__________________

JENNI PARRY. My reading these days tends to be of blogs and Facebook status updates. I have many many books stacked up neatly beside my bed, awaiting reading. Some are books I “should” read for personal development, you know the ones others rave about being life changing and the turning point in their life, some are books that called to me from the shelf in the book store, and some are books that I bought with the idea in mind to read then yet deep down inside I know I really only wanted to get the author’s signature as I admire the journey they have traveled in their life.

__________________

JO HARRISON interview with J.W. Manus. These days, writing fiction takes about 25% of my time and energy. I have several projects in the works and they’ll be produced later this year. The majority of my time is spent in my new role as a Producer. I and several other writers have formed a group. Our goal is to become a publishing entity, but not one based on legacy publishing. Producing a terrific book is harder than it looks and I doubt there are very many people who are capable of doing it alone. We’re taking things that work best in legacy publishing and in indie publishing, and finding ways to meld them and mix them and with luck we’ll come up with something readers love. So far we’ve produced two ebooks of which we’re all very proud. J.R. Barrett’s Beauty and the Feast, and Marina Bridges’ Zombies Take Manhattan! The other writers call me the Obsessanator because of my fascination with ebook production. I love ebooks. As much as I love them, I am frustrated with how poor a “total reading experience” they offer. My goal is to change that, to find ways to make reading an ebook as pleasurable as reading a print book.

__________________

CIRCE DENYER. Stand in front of the mirror. Tell the person you see there, “I like you”. Immediately you should hear something inside you saying, what do you like? OR some other truth. Now, think about your own interaction with the people closest to you. Have you ever said these words to them? Have you ever heard them said to you? Now, imagine someone significant saying those words in a meaningful tone to you. Do you feel the power, the significance of them?

__________________

SARAH BENSON. You have a unique perspective.  Your personality mixed with unique experiences (that CANNOT ever be duplicated) *right there* creates something of value.  Whether you are trying to sell a book, hand-made crafts, or anything else that automatically has a personal flare to it.  If you put yourself into your product, I am sure that someone out there will be interested in it, because it is truly unique (just as you are).

__________________

LISA CHERRY. I have never attempted to write fiction wanting only to write non-fiction, yet I am continually moved by story tellers. I want the writer to take me somewhere, on a journey, to a place I wouldn’t normally go that I feel compelled to keep learning about. I want to read that which I can connect with so I love books that at some point in the story have a decade in it that  I have lived in and in the country in which I live (the UK).

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

