Tags

, , , , ,

Author Blog Challenge – Day 2 Recap

More fabulous posts on the second day of the Author Blog Challenge! If you missed them on our Facebook group page, here are my favorite excerpts from some of the posts for Day 2 of the Author Blog Challenge.

Many folks used the prompt we provided about the writing classes, program, or workshops they’d taken, but many also posted on other topics. Enjoy!

__________________

MELISSA GIJSBERS KHALINSKY. Anyway, when I was at high school, being an author wasn’t an acceptable career path, so I started studying journalism at University. I didn’t finish my degree as life happened and I needed to get a full time job. Then came two kids, a business, a divorce, and being required to go back to work. Last year, I started writing fiction again, and I loved it. I also revisited some old stories and started working to get them edited and developed into a publishable format.

__________________

ANDREW G. COOPER. Today, I am continually astounded by how writers can build entire worlds with words. Writers are just like carpenters, stonemasons and blacksmiths. Writers are able to create something from something else; their craft is that of words. Masters of wordcraft can do amazing things with nothing but ink on a page. They can make you laugh, make you cry, take you to far-away places and different worlds and make you really feel and experience things.

__________________

ELLIE IZZO. As I was washing dishes yesterday and thinking about Fathers Day, I noticed the clear, crisp water rushing out of the faucet and I was reminded of my mother’s father and the example he set for living a deliberate and gentle life. The running water reminded me of him because when he washed dishes in his tiny kitchen, he would set the water to a trickle so as not to waste it. This trickle of water greatly lengthened the time he spent at the sink, but he never seemed to care. He enjoyed himself in every moment of his life; whatever that moment happened to encompass.

__________________

NIKKI MORGAN. I have managed to register a domain name, set up a Dream Host account, create this blog, write a book, get it loaded on Kindle and have it available for sale as a download on the ‘Better You Ebook’  page with the help of E-Junkie  and have managed all of this with no outside help, no technical savvy knowledge or having a nervous breakdown!

__________________

JO MICHAELS. I remember when I told my comrades in the design department that I would be taking extra Composition and English classes and how their faces looked. You’d have thought I sprouted an extra head. What they failed to realize was, my design briefs were the best in the class because of it. Even with the extra workload, I was more relaxed because I was doing something I loved.

__________________

SAHM ATAINE KING. I very much enjoy learning.  Here’s my problem: I’m impatient.  I’ve never been a team player.  For me, being on a team is like riding a bicycle through mud.  I neither like being slowed down by a slow team member nor slowing the team down if I happen to be the impediment to the team’s progress.  In short, I like moving at my own pace.

__________________

BECKY FYFE. I have never taught a writing class or workshop, but, as a mom who actively works with her children to make sure that they practice writing and learn to love the craft, I used to run weekly “clubs” in my own home for my children and their friends. They would write short stories or poems, based on prompts I would give them. Then the stories or poems would be read aloud by me, kept completely anonymous during the reading, and everyone would vote on their favorite story or poem (not being allowed to vote for their own). The winner of the evenings writing usually won a chocolate or similar treat.

__________________

JAMIE SALOFF. Most traditional publishers won’t touch a self-published book until it has sold 3500 to 5000 books (some won’t touch it at all). Why? Because they know it takes at LEAST that many sales to prove a book has a sufficient audience to make it marketable. AND, some traditional publishers find that at that level, the book has played out the whole of its audience—this is particularly true with tightly niched books. While it’s easy to ignore the knowledge of the traditional publishers, particularly in the light of today’s bursting self-publishing and ebook markets, they have stayed in business for years upon years because they know from experience how to market books, what sells (for them as a company) and what doesn’t.

__________________

PAMELA MAYNARD. I had my hopes set on publishing a non-fiction book about guinea hens.  I sent a few pitch letters and never heard back from anyone.  I  had received rejection letters before, but not hearing at all was worse. So, once again, I lost my groove. Until I met up with some aspiring writers at the local library. We formed the White Mountain Writer’s Group and met once a month. I wasn’t writing a tremendous amount, but at least it was better than no writing at all.

__________________

DOROTHY RUPPERT. The idea that good parenting can overcome any issue is one of the most pernicious misunderstandings around. It does a great disservice to the many families that are already struggling with [the] challenges [of mental illness].

__________________

CHELSEA BLACK. Let’s face facts: when it comes to writing, many of us are self-taught and that’s ok. I’m not too concerned with my skill as a writer so much as I am the content of what I write. So I don’t look to learn about how to write. I respect those that invest in their skill but for me and lifestyle writing, I haven’t seen the course that would teach me how. I’ve started to see blogging courses, yes, but I’m not sure I would do any of them, as our individual voices are still quite embryonic.

__________________

ELLIE MENDEZ. My main source of education has been books, over the years I’ve read many books about writing, but three stand out: (1) On Writing, by Stephen King; (2) Will Write for Shoes: How to Write a Chick Lit Novel, by Cathy Yardley; and (3) The Anatomy of Story: 22 Steps to Becoming a Master Storyteller, by John Truby.

Thanks to all who posted!

Laura & Marcie

__________________

The Author Blog Challenge is hosted by Laura Orsini and her alter ego, Marcie Brock, of the Marcie Brock – Book Marketing Maven blog. Please visit Marcie’s blog for loads of great info about low- to no-cost methods of marketing for self-publishing authors.

